Visa-on-arrival to India for 43 countries (Updated)

Travel On The Dollar
August 15, 2013  •  2 min(s) read

India Visa On ArrivalUpdate: November 26, 2014

Tourists traveling to India from 43 countries will now be able to apply online and receive the approval within four working days, before getting their visa at an airport on arrival. Britain, India’s former colonial master, is not included on the new list.

Under the scheme, tourists will be able to pick up their visas from nine Indian airports. Tourists can apply twice a year for 30-day visas which cannot be extended. Tourists must also have a return ticket.

The 43 countries are – Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Luxembourg, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vanuatu, Vietnam.

Citizens of 11 countries – Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Singapore, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Philippines, Myanmar and Indonesia can now avail of tourist visa on arrival with a maximum validity of 30 days, in India.

The passports of the applicants should be ordinary, should be valid for at least six months and should contain minimum two blank pages. Return or round ticket was also mandatory and travelers will have to pay $60 (equivalent Indian currency) to avail the facility.

The home ministry introduced the visa on arrival scheme Jan 1, 2010 at four metros for citizens of five countries. The number of countries has now been increased to 11 while the facility has also been extended to four new airports – Hyderabad, Thiruvananthapuram, Kochi and Bangalore.

Travel On The Dollar